Navigate / search

Let No One Be Alone

Let No One Be Alone – Our social connectedness is a determinant of health. We all have the power to make a positive change in the lives of others; the gift of time can save lives! Reach out to someone with genuine care and concern and see what great things can happen!

Arden Crocus Club hosts Police Academy

Photos by Brenda Tonn
The Arden Crocus Club recently hosted a Police Academy seminar on a wide array of topics. The course graduation was held on Thursday, Nov. 9.

Neepawa Banner & Press

The Crocus Club in Arden recently hosted a very successful Police Academy program. The program has been developed to empower adults by providing them with information on safety and security issues, enabling them to make well informed decisions.

In total, there were six presentations, held on four different days. The presentations were: Falls and prevention by Jenna Kilburn of Country Meadows; Scams and frauds by Monica Petruskavich of Consumer Protection Office; Medications by pharmacist Patti Thomson of Plumas; Elder abuse by Brenda Tonn of Plumas; Planning for the future by Doug Brown; and Personal safety by Constable Silver of the RCMP.
On Thursday, Nov. 9, certificates were handed out to those who attended all six sessions. the feedback received from those in attendance suggested that the program was a very educational and worthwhile experience to everyone who participated.

Reach Isolated Seniors Everywhere – RISE Sunday – February 19, 2017

Social isolation is a health risk for seniors that often gets worse during the winter months. Frigid temperatures, difficult driving and walking conditions may limit opportunities for outings and socialization. These conditions can be especially difficult for the elderly and increase their risk of health problems, injuries, and loneliness.  For more information click HERE or on the image above.



MCA Awards Recognize Seniors Dedication

October 28, 2016


– – –

MCA Awards Recognize Seniors Dedication, Commitment to Their Communities:  Goertzen

The province is proud to celebrate Manitobans receiving Manitoba Council on Aging (MCA) Recognition Awards in recognition of their leadership, contributions and commitment to their communities, Health, Seniors and Active Living Minister Kelvin Goertzen announced today.

“Manitoba seniors are driving change in communities across the province.  They are leaders, supporters and organizers who volunteer their time to make life a little better for every Manitoban,” said Goertzen.  “The MCA awards are but a small token of Manitoba’s appreciation that recognizes their dedication and commitment publicly.”

The Recognition Awards ceremony has been held during Seniors’ and Elders’ Month since 1997, providing an opportunity to recognize Manitobans aged 65 and over who make extraordinary contributions to their communities.

The minister noted a small but significant change was made to the MCA’s top award this year to highlight that both older men and women are leaders of their communities.  After being known for 10 years as the Murray Smith Award, the MCA highest award will now be the Murray and Muriel Smith Award.  Goertzen said that just like the great Manitoba couple after which the award was named, its recipients are recognized for demonstrating outstanding qualities through volunteer service, advocacy, community influence and successful efforts in raising the profile of seniors.

“These Recognition  Awards shine a light on often unseen acts of service and the MCA is appreciative not only to the volunteers but also to the many Manitobans who have put the recipients names forward,” said Dave Schellenberg, chair, Manitoba Council on Aging.  “It’s a wonderful way to say thank you and makes us all proud to be part of a helping community.” The 2016 MCA award recipients are; • Bernice Marmel (Murray and Muriel Smith Award); • Lois Abraham; • Diana Ateah; • Denise Balcaen; • Florence Bourgouin; • Muriel McPhail; • Rosemary Shackel; • Walter Siemens; and • Diane Truderung.

Honourable mention certificates were awarded to: • Cécile Bérard; • Blanketing Manitoba; • Louise Chernetz; • Country Four (Luella Noble, Harvey Jellis, Perry Hallet, Elmer Hunter); • Phillippe Désautels; • Juliette Rowan; • Cory Juan; • Danny Rintoul; • Harold Simpson; • Felicity Trott; • Iva Wilson; • Darlene Mitton for the Expect Respect program; and • the Wellness Institute Communication Team.

The Manitoba Council on Aging was created in 1980 as an advisory body to ensure that seniors’ perspectives are reflected in government programs and policies.

More information on the recognition awards is available at:

LTCAM Award for Excellence Nomination Form

Awards for Excellence are given each year by the Long Term & Continuing Care Association of Manitoba to honour the efforts and dedication of an outstanding person, team or volunteer who has provided exceptional service to clients/residents within the long term care continuum.

Do you know someone who goes “above and beyond” and works or volunteers in for example, a Personal Care Home, Supportive Housing Residence, Retirement Residence, (sometimes known as Assisted Living), and/or a Community or Seniors Resource Centre? Now you can let this person know how much they are valued!



Nostalgia Broadcasting Cooperative (CJNU 93.7 FM) is not-for-profit, community service cooperative and a part of a team dedicated to providing our listeners with the nostalgia music they want.

To take a listen please visit them at 93.7 FM or visit their website

Seniors Rally For Investment in Healthy Aging Initiatives


Seniors Vote 2016, a coalition of seven Manitoba seniors organizations, is holding a pre-election rally to call for more investment in healthy aging initiatives.

What: Pre-election rally for better healthy aging facilities and programs
Where: Barbara Mitchell Family Resource Centre, 51 Morrow Avenue (EAST off St. Anne’s Road, just south of Fermor)
When: Thursday, April 14, 2016, 10:30 a.m.
Tom Farrell, president, Manitoba Association of Seniors Centres
Jim Evanchuk, executive director, Active Living Coalition for Older Adults in Manitoba
Peggy Prendergast, director, Retired Teachers’ Association of Manitoba
Plus other representatives of Seniors Vote 2016 and older members of the general public

Adam Dooley

DSCN1349 Peggy & Connie
DSCN1342 - April 14 - crowd
DSCN1340 - Tom F
DSCN1312 - Jim E & Connie

DISABILITY MATTERS: Manitoba VOTE 2016 Resource

Disability Matters Vote 2016 is a non-partisan public awareness campaign. This campaign is a joint initiative of Abilities Manitoba and Barrier Free Manitoba but this campaign is all about YOU. We need YOUR support to reach our three goals:

  • To ensure that all Manitobans with disabilities can participate fully in election activities and that those who are eligible to vote are able to do so.
  • To promote priority attention for disability issues in the election.
  • To support Manitobans with disabilities in making informed voting decisions

You are invited to join us for a press conference to announce all five key priority issues. CLICK HERE for more information.